What Are The Main 5 Stages Of Grief

Although regrettable, grief is an inherent aspect of existence. Sadness is the universal reaction to dealing with loss, whether it be from the death of a loved one, losing one’s job, or any other major life event. Which five phases of grieving are there? Review each and provide information on where to get help when mourning.

Which Five Phases Of Grieving Are There?

Though everyone handles loss differently, five phases of mourning are widely recognized. They aid in offering a context for the intricate feelings, actions, and thoughts that are frequently felt following the death of a loved one.

Understanding these phases helps you make sense of the feelings you may be experiencing. They also help even though they should be viewed as something other than definitive because only some experience them in the same manner or sequence.

The five phases of mourning outline the primary reactions to loss, which also act as a framework for identifying and framing our possible feelings. Since these phases are not sequential, you can experience them in any sequence. You can also switch between them in various ways. In any case, these are the stages at which most individuals express sadness. To be accepted is the ultimate objective before you enrol in anger management therapy and get yourself cured.


The stage of grief known as denial occurs when a person rejects the truth of a circumstance. Denying is not the same as not comprehending. It is a protective mechanism to shield us from the shock of distressing adversity. When mourning, a denial phase is common and often beneficial as you attempt to make sense of a challenging circumstance. Denial examples include:

  • Denying or downplaying the death;
  • Denying or sidestepping the subject in discussion;
  • Claiming the death was untrue
  • Or claiming the news source was untrustworthy.


Anger is a common emotion that follows understanding what was said to them and accepting that death is a fact. This can be a normal reaction toward oneself, loved ones, medical professionals, God, or even the departed. Although it may appear harsh or disrespectful to loved ones, anger is a natural aspect of the mourning process. Anger may take many forms and is frequently merely a sign of grief.

  • Accusing a medical professional of failing to prevent a disease
  • Feeling resentful of God or some higher authority;
  • Feeling furious with oneself or holding oneself responsible for the death;
  • Blaming family members for failing to provide care or support;

You can connect with stress management experts, and they can help you out. These professionals will help you with the right solutions for handling your grief.


Grief frequently leaves us feeling helpless and overwhelmed. You often find yourself overtaken by “what if” and “if only” sentiments when you think you have no control over what is occurring. A person tries to bargain or make concessions during the bargaining stage of sorrow. To feel less depressed or achieve a different result, you try to agree with yourself or a higher force. Often, bargaining needs to be more logical.


Depression is a depressing and dismal state that frequently follows the death of a close relative. Even if the early phases of sorrow shield us from the emotional suffering brought on by loss, these emotions are frequently unavoidable.


Acceptance, seen as the final and fifth stage in grief process, is the time during which you come to grips with the fact that your loss is actual. You stop fighting or denying your pain after you’ve reached this accepting stage. You try to devote all of your attention to honouring the lives of your loved ones, treasure the moments experienced, and establish plans during this time.

How To Cope Up With The Grief?

Actions you may do to assist in coping with the death of a loved one include:

  • Establish a daily schedule. Maintaining a regular sleep pattern, exercise regimen, and good food might assist you in concentrating on the things under your control.
  • Honour the life of the person you care about. Think about doing something to pay tribute to your departed loved one in a way that means something to you. This might involve creating a monument, sharing tales, or gathering pictures.
  • Focus on experiencing delight. Permitting oneself to be happy even in the face of adversity may lift your spirits and positively affect your health.

All people suffer losses of some kind at some point in their lives. Grief is the universal emotion that unites people who have lost a loved one, a career, a relationship, a pet, or their identity or who are coping with a fatal disease. There are many ways to characterise loss; it may be material or immaterial and significantly impacts someone’s well-being.

When sorrow is dealt with appropriately by the best psychologist, you may learn to move past it and see the loss as a source of inner resilience and power. But sadness can drag you down and prevent you from leading the fulfilling life you deserve if it is unresolved and suppressed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Call Us